Christmas Treasures

With the holidays upon and preparations in full swing, I came across one of my favorite Christmas treasures. It always makes me pause as memories of past Christmases crowd into my mind. Below is a post from 2011 that I’d like to share once again.

Behold one of the Christmas treasures I rescued from my parents’ house before it was sold. It’s the 1948 Christmas Annual Edition of the Louis Allis Messenger. I wasn’t around in 1948, but this particular book made an appearance every Christmas for as long as I can remember. I loved the contents of the book with its Christmas carols, poems, customs from other lands, and beautiful art. But it was the cover illustrations and the double page spread in the middle of the book that kept me fascinated for hours. I immersed myself in George Hinke’s illustrations and became part of the enchanting world he created.

 

cover

Front Cover

back cover

Back Cover

beard

Inside Front Cover

elves

Inside Back Cover

double

Double-Page Spread

I spent hours examining every tiny detail in the scenes. I named the elves and made myself a secret elf, feeding the cats, joining in the pillow fight, opening letters for Santa, and counting the good girls and boys. This book still has the power to evoke delightful memories and the feeling of magic that was part of my childhood.

“Our hearts grow tender with childhood memories and love of kindred, and we are better throughout the year for having, in spirit, become a child again at Christmas-time.”  ~Laura Ingalls Wilder

 

I wish you wonderful childhood memories.

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.