Christmas Books Worth Reading

Christmas books are my extreme passion. When I find one that makes my heart sing, I add it to my collection.

During the year, I keep the books in a cozy place on one of our many bookshelves. When the Christmas Season arrives in our house — the day after Thanksgiving — I display the books around the house in places where they can be picked up and enjoyed. Christmas books in the bathroom. Christmas books in the bedrooms. Christmas books in the kitchen. Christmas books in the family room. Pick one up and read it.

I can’t tell you which book is my favorite because they’re all my favorites!

One I particularly enjoy is The Reader’s Digest Book of Christmas. It was the first book I added to my collection after I got married. It has everything in it, including an additional booklet called Reader’s Digest Christmas Decorating Ideas. The ideas are dated, but they provide a hint of nostalgia.

IMG_3107

The book itself is filled with gorgeous pictures and covers topics such as The Birth of Christ, The History of Christmas, The Literature of Christmas (my favorite), and Christmas Around the World. There are sidebars on various pages that include pictures, artifacts, quotes from well-known people, lyrics from songs, prayers, and superstitions.

It was in this book I found a traditional prayer to be said when the Yule Log is lighted. This prayer is one of our family traditions when we light our Yule Log each year.

May the fire of this log warm the cold; may the hungry be fed; may the weary find rest, and may all enjoy Heaven’s peace.

Like the other books in my collection, this book is a good friend. It’s always there to share its secrets and keep me company.

Explore posts in the same categories: Literature

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

