Books and Humor

Humor is my armor. I tend to use it when something frightens me, when I’m nervous, when something sad happens, or when I just feel silly. So it may not surprise you that when it comes to picture books, humor is my first choice. A book that makes me laugh fills my heart with joy.

I’m participating in the fabulous Reading for Research Month Challenge (ReFoReMo). Informative daily posts accompanied by a list of mentor texts are provided for participants to read, research, and learn more about writing. I’m loving the list of books provided. Since I’m addicted to humorous books, below are a few of my favorites. If you want to put a smile on your face, check out these books.

Clever Humor

sparky

Sparky! written by Jenny Offill and illustrated by Chris Appelhans, Schwartz & Wade Books

worm

Diary of a Worm written by Doreen Cronin and illustrated by Harry Bliss, HarperCollins

Laugh Out Loud Funny

yam

I Yam A Donkey!  written and illustrated by Cece Bell, Clarion Books

bruce

Mother Bruce written and illustrated by Ryan T. Higgins, Disney-Hyperion

Simple Comic Humor

dust

Rhyming Dust Bunnies written and illustrated by Jan Thomas, Beach Lane Books

shh

Shh! We Have a Plan written and illustrated by Chris Haughton, Candlewick Press

bark

Bark, George written and illustrated by Jules Feiffer, HarperCollins

Quirky

i want

I Want My Hat Back written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, Candlewick Press

this is

This is Not My Hat written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, Candlewick Press

we found

We Found a Hat written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, Candlewick Press

Explore posts in the same categories: Humor

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Books and Humor”


  1. I’ll check some of the books you have suggested. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. MyPoems Says:

    I am kind of person who loves humor in writings and Rhyme in poems … Thanks for sharing the list would love to go through them 🙂


Leave a Reply

