Watch Out for Bears!

We live in a woodsy neighborhood with a conservation area behind us. While talking to one of the neighbors last week, the subject of bears came up. He mentioned that he saw bear tracks going in between our houses and into the conservation area. I appreciate wildlife, but knowing there may be a bear lurking outside my window makes me a bit uncomfortable I like to be prepared for anything that might happen. I did what any lover of picture books would do. I got A Beginner’s Guide to Bear Spotting.

Bear Spotting

This charming book with delightful illustrations is written by Michelle Robinson and illustrated by David Roberts. In between the two covers of the book, I learned everything I need to know about bears from the cutest little bear expert. She taught me that black bears and brown bears can be dangerous. I learned that if I come across a bear, I should “play dead” or “back away s l o w l y,” depending on what kind of bear it is. She gave me tips on what I should or should not do when a bear is around. I also learned the golden rule about bear spotting. If you want to know what it is, you need to get this book to make sure you’re safe if you ever come face to face with a bear.

Don’t mess with me bears. I come prepared!

Explore posts in the same categories: Picture Books

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Watch Out for Bears!”


  1. This looks fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful review. What beautiful way to learn more about bears. I’ll be checking it out pronto.


  2. Most interesting! I shall have to get my hands on this book. And there was a program on WI Public TV just last night about bears.


Leave a Reply

