Pet Peeve

As a writer, I’ve learned every word counts. Unnecessary words can throw off your plot and pacing. Richard Peck, an award-winning author, provided excellent advice when he said, “You can cut 20 words from the tightest page your ever wrote.”

I have a pet peeve when it comes to extra words. As I see it, phrases such as gone missing and switch out each have an unnecessary word in them.

If a person has gone missing, they’re either gone or missing. They’ve disappeared. Got it?

Why switch out something? Just switch it with something else. Cut out the out!

And then there’s the word changeup, also spelled change-up. Changeup is a baseball term, but I’ve heard it used when someone wants to change-up something like their wardrobe. Really? If you can change-up something, can you change it down?

I know these are commonly used phrases, but they befuddle me. As this year comes to an end, I can’t help but wonder what new expressions will creep into our vocabularies in 2015?

Maybe in future posts, I’ll change-up my technique and switch out some of the vocabulary I’ve become accustomed to using. So take a close look at upcoming posts and see if you notice any phrases that have gone missing.

Do you have any words or phrases that are your pet peeves?

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Pet Peeve”


  1. My pet peeve? People who spell “fridge” this way: frig.


Leave a Reply

