Man Vs. Bunny

My husband has bunny radar. The other evening at eleven o’clock in the far-below freezing temperatures, my husband asked, “Do you want to see a rabbit?”

My thought:  I want to go to bed!

On our back patio, in the dark and bitter cold, sat a rabbit. It wasn’t just any rabbit. My husband’s body language told me that rabbit was his nemesis. Before I could say goodnight, my husband was out the door chasing that furry critter away.

Rabbits have become an obsession with my husband. An obsession is never a good thing especially when it has to do with ridding the world – or at least our yard – of those hoppy little creatures. This fixation of his began several summers ago when a traveling band of bunnies moved into our neighborhood. Since that time, they do what bunnies do – multiply.

Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! In the past, those rabbits have decimated our flower gardens. They’ve gnawed at our shrubs. And even though there’s a fence around our vegetable garden, the rabbits have discovered a way to secretly enter into a veggie paradise.

I reminded my husband of the Tale of Peter Rabbit and suggested he refer to how Mr. McGregor handled a similar situation. I even suggested he plant Creepy Carrots! to scare those bunnies away.

Then one day last summer, my husband discovered a nest of bunny babies in our yard. His decision to carefully move those bunnies to a place outside our yard transformed Mama Bunny into Battle Bunny!

It was all-out war between man and bunny. That bunny gnawed every bush she could find. She dug burrows around the yard, feasted on fresh vegetables, and left behind rabbit poop.

No fur ball was going to outwit my husband. He was out for rabbit stew! He swept away rabbit poop, put chicken wire around every bush, and bought rabbit repellent. We are now in the deep of winter and the bunny tale continues. My husband’s rabbit radar is up and running. Who will win?

Maybe my husband should plant a garden of books to quell his appetite for rabbit stew.

Rabbit Reading:

Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! written by Candace Fleming and illustrated by G. Brian Karas (Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2002)

The Tale of Peter Rabbit written and illustrated by Beatrix Potter (Warne, 110 anniversary edition, 2012)

Creepy Carrots! written by Aaron Reynolds and illustrated by Peter Brown (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2012)

Battle Bunny written by Jon Scieszka: Mac Barnett and illustrated by Matthew Myers (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2013)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Picture Books

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

