Take Me Out to the Ball Game!

Baseball has never been one of my favorite sports. I once said I’d rather listen to golf being broadcast on the radio than watch a baseball game. Shame on me! It’s time to eat my words.

IMG_9042

Fenway Park

Starting with the first game of the World Series, I was glued to the television. My husband was in shock. As he put it, “You haven’t watched this much baseball in your entire life!” This is true, but when it comes to the Boston Red Sox, Fenway Park, The Green Monster, and “Sweet Caroline”, you have to be a fan — especially if you happened to have lived in Massachusetts during your lifetime.

Boston supports their teams — good, bad, or other. One fan has been coming to Sox games since 1953. That’s sixty years!  Loyal fans are everywhere you look, but you may have to look twice because beards, scruffy-looking or not, are the in-thing in Boston these days!

 IMG_2009

May Way for the Red Sox by Day and by Night

DSC05788

DSC05810

George Washington Fighting a Red Sox Victory by Day and by Night

DSC05787

As a current resident of Wisconsin, I committed a mortal sin last Sunday by choosing to watch the Red Sox game over the Green Bay Packer game! (A Sam Adams and some squeaky cheese curds can do wonders to ease the guilt.) Who knew baseball could make me jump out of my chair, shout at the television, mumble swear words, and make me a crazed woman.

At the end of last night’s game, I was convinced God was a Red Sox fan. I saw Him hovering above Fenway Park, sporting a beard and cheering as only a Boston fan can cheer. It took ninety-five years to win a series at Fenway, and now they’re back!

Boston is Boston Strong, and I am Boston Proud for the city, its people, and its team! Congratulations!

Massachusetts State House

DSC05819[1]

Boston Strong Always

A Red Sox Read for the Young Fans:

No Easy Way: The Story of Ted Williams and the Last .004 Season written by Fred Bowen and illustrated by Chuck Pyle (Dutton, 2010)

A Red Sox Read for the Older Fans:

The Kid:  The Immortal Life of Ted Williams written by Ben Bradlee (Little, Brown and Company, Coming in December 2013)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

