Venting

My daughter is getting married. The good news is I’m thrilled she has found someone wonderful. The bad news is I have to purchase a mother of the bride dress. This may seem like a trivial thing to some, but for me it’s colossal!

I hate to shop. Having a personal shopper who knows exactly how to find the perfect clothes for my body type would be ideal. As I get older, I have found my body does weird things. It revolts against everything I do to try to keep it in check. No matter how much I exercise or how well I eat, things keep happening to my body – ugly things – wrinkles, sun damage, sagging parts, and added weight. This is one time I’d like to be a man and just get measured for a groom-chosen tux. In and out. No hassle.

With my body baggage in mind, I began to look for a mother of the bride dress. I planned my strategy. I started by looking online. The first thing I noticed was the mother of bride dresses were being modeled by what looked like twentysomethings with perfect figures. In my mind, I’m still twenty-six, but in my body I AM NOT A TWENTYSOMETHING! Show me real everyday moms in these dresses.

I found a few dresses I thought would work for me. I went to the bridal salons that had them and tried them on. The dresses DID NOT look the same on me. I don’t need a bridal salon. I need a saloon!!! My mind was running wild. I was hysterical. Can I lose twenty pounds in two months? I took a deep breath and calmed myself. It’s taken me years to put on these pounds. My body is certainly not going to let that extra weight go without an all-out fight! I chose a new strategy. I picked out the ugliest of ugly dresses I could find and tried them on. They provided a good laugh, which helped with my overall mental and physical health.

The good news is I finally did find a dress. The bad news is someone politely said, “It’s slimming.” A better comment would have been, “You look gorgeous!”

Thank you very much!

Here are some great picture books where, unlike my experience, dressing up can be a fun experience.

The Very Fairy Princess Here Comes the Flower Girl   written by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton and illustrated by Christine Davenier

Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed written and illustrated by Mo Willems

Pinkalicious Flower Girl written and illustrated by Victoria Kann

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Venting”


  1. So glad you found a dress — but I empathize with you in the difficulty of the search (although I’ve never been in the position of being mother of the bride or groom). There’s enough stress being mother of the bride, they should make the search easier!

    Delighted that you highlighted The Very Fairy Princess: Here Comes the Flower Girl among others! Gerry has her own problems with wedding prep — I’m sure she’d empathize with you, too. (And likely find a solution that would help you let your sparkle out! Hope your dress will do that for you.)


Leave a Reply

