Ghostwriter

I’m a writer. My mind is always on the go. It’s popping ideas about a current project or a future one. I’m constantly scribbling on paper, napkins, my hand – whatever is available at the time an idea knocks on my brain.

It so happens the middle of the night is a very popular time for ideas to creep into my subconscious and zap me into consciousness.

Inspiration came the other night. Being careful not to wake the adorable sleeping giant beside me, I quietly reached for the pen and notebook I keep under my side of the bed. In the dark, I wrote down my ideas. I made a distinct point of writing legibly. Too often, I’ve hurriedly scribbled my ideas on paper only to find I’m unable to decipher my writing the next morning. Satisfied that I had all my thoughts neatly written down, I rolled over and went to sleep.

Morning arrived. It was going to be a good day for writing. I just knew it. I took my notebook to my computer. I sat down to read my overnight inspiration. Read what?

The page was empty. I flipped through the notebook forwards and backwards – nothing! My words had disappeared. Did I dream my inspiration? Did someone sneak into the bedroom and steal my words of wisdom? Was it ghostwritten, using invisible words? Maybe that’s how H.G. Wells was inspired to write The Invisible Man!

Upon further investigation, I found the pen was inkless, and I was left wordless and idealess. Back to the writing board.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

