Hallucinating Star Wars Style

It happened on New Year’s Eve just minutes after midnight. My husband and I were at our friends’ house, celebrating the holiday together. When the clock struck twelve, we rang in the New Year and declared it time to get some sleep. Tom and I stepped into our hosts’ youngest son’s bedroom. We were swallowed up by the Star Wars galaxy.

Perhaps it was the champagne. Perhaps it was the French food we consumed, but as soon as the lights were turned out and my body hit the Star Wars sheets, Obei-Wan-You-Know-Me appeared.

IMG_0028

“Princess Leiabrarian, don’t go to sleep,” he whispered. “I need your help. Dark Vader has cut off the electricity to the library. Yoda-Le-He-Hoo and his students can’t see the books of knowledge they need in order to become Jedi. And even if they could see the books, they can’t check them out because the computer is as dark as Dark Vader!”

IMG_0026

“Students not able to check out books!” I cried. “That’s dastardly! Princess Leiabrarian will take care of this!”

Soon Obei-Wan-You-Know-Me and I were in a speedy starfighter on our way to the Star Wars galaxy.

Jabba the Mutt was guarding the door to the library. Slobbering and  growling, he was letting no one in or out. Dark Vader was inside. He was engulfed in darkness, making sure no books of knowledge reached the hands of Yoda-Le-He-Hoo and his would-be Jedi.

“Get me a lightsaber,” I commanded

I rapidly swung the lightsaber through the air. It produced a high pitch, which sent Jabba the Mutt into a frenzy. He ran from his post and freed the entrance to the library.

With my lightsaber, I made short work of Dark Vader. He was banished to an outer galaxy until he could see the light of his evil ways. Electricity was quickly restored, and book titles flashed from their shelves.

It was time to help Yoda-Le-He-Hoo educate his students. To my surprise, no one was looking for books of knowledge, they were clamoring for Star Wars books.

I knew exactly what they wanted. They were just like my second grade students, fighting over who would get to check out the next Star Wars book.

IMG_0034

Some Well-Read Books

IMG_0035

I wrote down a list of books and suggested they try the intergalactic library system.

My job was done. I returned to my Tom Solo, who was peacefully snoring under the Star Wars sheets. He had no idea I had traveled to a distant galaxy to do what a librarian must do.

Like I said, maybe it was the champagne or the French food that caused my Star Wars hallucination, but then how do you explain the text I got on my phone that night.

MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU

Check out some of the 43,800+ Star Wars  titles I found on the Intergalactic Internet.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fun

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

