Faded Memories

In the past three weeks I’ve been to three graduations – college, high school, and grade school. On Sunday, one of the young speakers at the grade school graduation I attended told his classmates that their graduation would be something they would always remember and they would maintain their friendships throughout the years.

I scoured my brain for graduation memories. This is what I came up with. In grade school, we wore royal blue caps and gowns and there were four-two graduates – all from one eighth grade class. My high school graduation was hot. The only picture I have of my graduation shows me in an orange, sleeveless dress with perspiration stains under my arms. Not cool! At my college graduation, we sweltered in the football stadium stands, and my family celebrated by taking me out to Roy Roger’s Roast Beef. Not too memorable!

And what about those friendships the young speaker spoke of maintaining throughout the years? In reality, true-blue friends are hard to find. People change. Times change. You lose contact. A friendship that weathers the test of time is a true friendship. Consider yourself successful if you have one of those priceless friends.

Memories of graduations fade, but friends don’t. I hope those grade school graduates work to keep their special friendships because, no matter what, a true friend will always be there with you.

What are your graduation memories?

Books for Graduation Gifts:

Yay, You! : Moving Out, Moving Up, Moving On  written and illustrated by Sandra Boynton (Little Simon, 2001)

I Knew You Could!  written by Craig Dorfman and illustrated by Christina Ong (Grosset & Dunlap, 2003)

Reach for the Stars: and Other Advice for Life’s Journey  written and illustrated by Serge Bloch (Sterling, 2010)

Oh, the Places You’ll Go!  written and illustrated by Dr. Seuss (Random House, 1990)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

