Fancy Nancy and Fashion

I was gathering books to read to my classes when I pulled Fancy Nancy and the Posh Puppy by Jane O’Connor from the library shelf. The girls love Fancy Nancy and her extravagant outfits. The boys roll their eyes, but they eagerly laugh at her antics.

Fancy Nancy is a favorite of mine because she reminds me of my youth. Playing dress-up with my friends was a passion of mine. I’d put on my mom’s discarded dresses and heels and high-stepped it around the neighborhood with my friends for all to admire. We felt so grown up and beautiful. Fancy Nancy would have been envious.

That’s me on the right.

I recall one dress my mother bought for a trip she was taking to New York City with my dad. It was the most gorgeous dress I’d ever seen, and my mother looked fantastic in it. The dress was black velvet with a satin ribbon and had just the right amount of twirl. It was a dress that would have made me fairest of the fair when we played dress-up. No such luck. My mom kept that dress.

Last spring when my daughter was helping me clear out my parents’ house, we found the black velvet dress tucked away in a closet. Oh the memories it brought back! My daughter, who is a fashionista, immediately tried it on. It was a perfect fit. My time has passed for playing dress-up, so why not give it to someone who can wear it the way it was meant to be worn. Now she and Fancy Nancy can step out in style!

Check out Jane O’Connor’s other Fancy Nancy Books.

Explore posts in the same categories: Picture Books

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

