A Little Sick Humor

One of my students decided to sick-it-to-me! I guess that’s one of the disadvantages of being in close contact with kids. They ever so nicely cough and sneeze in your face and feel no guilt about spreading their germs.

My eyes are watering. My nose is red. I can’t breathe. I have a cold. In five minutes my first class will arrive in the library. I will entertain them with a fabulous story and share some of the germs they so generously gifted to me.

Book ready. Tissue ready. It’s library time!

One of these books might be the best medicine of all.

Llama Llama Home with Mama by Anna Dewdney (Viking Juvenile, 2011)

The Sniffles for Bear written by Bonny Becker and illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton (Candlewick, 2011)

A Sick Day for Amos McGee written by Philip C. Stead and illustrated by Erin Stead (Roaring Brook Press, 2010)

Mother, Mother, I Feel Sick; Send for the Doctor Quick, Quick Quick by Remy Charlip and Burton Supree and illustrated by Remy Charlip (Tricycle Press, 2001)

Bear Feels Sick written by Karma Wilson and illustrated by Jane Chapman (Margaret K. McElderry, 2007)

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

