On Stage in the Library

When I step into the library, I become an actor. No matter how tired I am or what mood I may be in, when students arrive at the door, I greet them with a smile. The phrase, “turn that frown upside down,” comes to mind.

Getting children excited about books and reading is one of the most important parts of my job. Doing this isn’t always easy. I pick and choose different genres and give a pep talk about each book, trying to peak interest from preschool to middle school students. I read picture books, passages from nonfiction books, and excerpts from chapter books. I’ve done experiments from science books, and I’ve given academy award-winning performances in order to instill excitement about reading. In short, I do what every librarian does who loves books and kids.   

It’s rewarding to see children excited about books. The younger students never seem to have a problem finding a “just right book.” The downside is when you have that one student, usually an intermediate or middle grade student, wandering from shelf to shelf unable to find a book. No matter what you do or say, nothing seems to interest him. My next step is to find out what the student’s likes and dislikes are and tell him to come back later after I’ve pulled some books that might peak his curiosity. Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn’t. Librarians do what they need to do. 

My motto is never give up and keep on smiling!      

Here are some popular authors in our library:

Sara PennypackerRick Riordan, Lenore Look, Gary Paulsen, Lisa Yee, Rachel Renée Russell

Explore posts in the same categories: Libraries

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

