It’s in the Eye of the Wearer

Ugly! Who knew the Christmas sweaters I wear to school every year are considered ugly? I found that out when someone said one of my sweaters would be perfect for an Ugly Christmas Sweater Party.

Hey, you insensitive people who throw those parties; there are those of us who love our Christmas sweaters! Teachers have a great reputation for wearing jingle-jangled, decorated cover-ups, and I’m part of that teacher crowd. Have some holiday compassion for the likes of us!

I consider myself to have a sophisticated sense of style so I decided to take a look at my sweaters from a different perspective – off my body. I took pictures of them and pretended they were for sale in the Neiman Marcus Christmas Catalog for an obscene amount of money. Would I find them so irresistible that I would choose to throw away my hard-earned money on these seasonal tops? Looking at my sweaters from this viewpoint, I had an epiphany. (That’s Christmas talk.)

MY SWEATERS ARE UGLY! There is no way I’d spend money for sweaters that look like this.

Sleigh Ride

Trees

Poinsettias

What am I thinking when I put them on every year? Christmas insanity is my only defense. So have I changed my mind about wearing my sweaters?

No! Christmas comes but once a year. If I want to wear ugly seasonal tops, so be it. In fact, I think I’ll do the whole darn Christmas package and throw in some ugly accessories, too!

Pins

Scarf

 

Socks

Ring-a-ding-ding those Christmas sweater bells!

An ugly sweater story:  The Truly Terribly Horrible Sweater…That Grandma Knit by Debbie Macomber and Mary Lou Carney (HarperCollins, 2009)

 
 
 
Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

