Chocolate and Writing Conferences

Attending a writing conference is like sinking your teeth into a piece of chocolate. You’ll find some are better than others, but they all offer something tasty.

As a writer, I highly recommend taking advantage of writing conferences. It’s a time to meet and greet fellow writers. It’s a time to keep up with what’s going on in the publishing industry and to connect with editors and agents. It’s a time to share experiences, to pitch ideas, and get feedback from those attending the conference.

Later today I’ll be on my way to the WI-SCBWI Fall Writing Retreat. The Wisconsin group is filled with extremely talented writers and illustrators. I consider myself very lucky to be able to connect with these delightfully fun and gifted people. On the chocolate scale, this group is “To Die For!”

The weekend lineup includes a variety of authors, illustrators, editors, and agents. I’m expecting to devour some tasty tidbits of information from each of them. Cheryl Klein, senior editor at Arthur A. Levine Books, will be there. Andrea Welch, senior editor at Beach Lane Books, will be there. And Tracey Adams, agent at Adams Literary, will be there. I’ll be on a chocolate high by the time the weekend is over. I’m not greedy. I’ll gladly share some pieces of tasty information with you on my Tuesday post.

Explore posts in the same categories: Conferences

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

