The Relatives Are Coming! The Relatives Are Coming!

Quick! Hide the mess. Wash to windows. Spit shine the floors. Polish the furniture. Change the linens. Tomorrow the relatives arrive. Planes and cars will bring relatives from California, Florida, Massachusetts, and Wisconsin.

Who are these people? They’re my daughter, brother, sisters, and nieces. Why should I care how my house looks for my brother and sisters? I grew up with them. I’ve seen them at their worst and I’ve seen them at their best and vice versa. But there’s something about wanting your brother and sisters to see you as the mature grown up you’ve become and not the hopelessly naive space queen from your youth.

As a family we all have our quirks and we don’t always get along. There will be some banter, some wise cracks, some rants, some tears, some good memories, and, hopefully, lots of laughter. So what’s the reason for the east coast meets west coast meets in the middle get together?

On Friday, we’ll memorialize my dad’s life. He passed away on January 8th of this year. Yes, it took us a bit of time to get organized. That’s part of the quirkiness of our family – getting it all together. Tomorrow would have been my parents’ 65th wedding anniversary. My mom passed away nine months before my dad, and on Friday we will lay him to rest next to her.

As we gather together as a family, we owe it to my parents to be the best that we can be for at least a few days because they were the best part of our lives!

Here’s a book young readers might enjoy about relatives:

The Relatives Came by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Stephen Gammell (Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books, 2001)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

