Shake, Rattle, and Rumble

When I said “Summer Rain” was one of my favorite summer tunes, I didn’t mean it was one of my favorite weather patterns. Since the first day of summer, wind, rain, hot temperatures, cool temperatures, and wicked thunder and lightning have been hanging around. Zeus, the Greek god of thunder and lightning, must be getting some grief from his wife about his affairs, and he’s taking it out on us!

The first flash of light warns me thunder will follow. I’m not particularly fond of thunder and lightning – especially when they arrive in the middle of the night and put on an earsplitting blazing light show.

In years past, when thunder and lightning filled the darkness of the night, I’d awake to find a little someone staring down at me and clutching her rag doll, Jenny. My husband and I would fix a bed for our daughter on the floor next to us, and she’d camp out for the rest of the night, feeling safe.  

I still cringe when I hear thunder in the night. When lightning flashes and thunder rumbles the entire house, my heart beats faster. I’m wide awake until the last sound of thunder fades into the distance. As an adult, my daughter loves thunderstorms. In fact, she looks forward to them. It must be because of the safe haven we provided her when she was young. Of course, she still has her Jenny doll to keep her safe.     

I say rain is fine in moderation. It’s Mother Nature doing her work. But enough of these wicked thunderstorms!

Some books to shake, rattle, and rumble you.

Picture Books:  Thunder Cake by Patricia Polacco (Puffin, 1997), How Thunder and Lightning Came to Be by Beatrice Harrell and illustrated by Susan L. Roth (Dial, 1995), The Storm Book by Charlotte Zolotow and illustrated by Margaret Bloy Graham (HarperCollins, 1989) 

Nonfiction Picture Books:  Rumble, Boom! A Book about Thunderstorms  by Rick Thomas and illustrated by Denise Shea (Picture Window Books, 2006), Flash, Crash, Rumble, and Roll by Franklyn M. Branley and illustrated by True Kelley (Collins, 1999)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

