Summertime and the Reading is Easy

Summer! It’s official – the first day. It’s time to enjoy some of my favorite summer tunes and catch up on my reading. So roll out Those Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer because it’s Summertime and the reading is easy.

What book am I reading now that there is no more school, no more shelving library books, no more overdue notices, and no more students? It’s The Fabled Fifth Graders of Aesop Elementary School by Candace Fleming. (It seems, no matter how hard I try, I just can’t get away from school.) This is a sequel to Fleming’s book The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary School, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Mr. Jupiter is back as the plucky teacher who has agreed to move with the fourth grade class to the fifth grade and be their teacher because no other teacher is willing to take on the challenging group of students. The cast of peculiar characters is ready to amuse you as the school year moves along, and, as in the previous book, the ending of each madcap chapter has a moral. That’s all I’m going to tell you because I haven’t finished reading the book, but if you like clever humor and just plain silliness, this book is a great choice for any young reader. And if you’re a teacher, you will definitely enjoy the humor!

It may be a hot town, Summer in the City, but where I am there’s a Summer Breeze that makes me read fine. And reading on Summer Nights in the Summer Rain is like a sweet dream. Summer means music to my ears and a feast of books for my eyes!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

