Bruins Fans Quack Me Up

“Ice hockey is a form of disorderly conduct in which the score is kept.” ─ Doug Larson

I readily admit I’m not passionate about sports – especially baseball. But I do take a moment every day to glance at the sports page so I can pretend I know what’s going on.  

What I am passionate about is children’s books. Robert McCloskey’s Make Way for Ducklings stole my heart the first time I read it.

So when Mrs. Mallard, Jack, Kack, Lack, Mack, Nack, Ouack, Pack, and Quack were seen in Boston Public Garden donned in Boston Bruins gear to support the hometown team in the Stanley Cup Finals, I took notice.

And when George Washington was spotted in the streets of Boston wearing a Bruins jersey, that’s history!

I realized it was time for me to reevaluate my thinking about sports. Tomorrow night I’ll have my television tuned into the Bruins/Canucks Stanley Cup Final. I’ll probably be asking a lot of questions, but, who knows, I may find that I have a “Nack” for understanding the game of hockey!

Go Bruins!

Here are two books I’m going to check out:  Hat Trick Counts:  A Hockey Number Book by Matt Napier and illustrated by Melanie Rose (Sleeping Bear Press, 2005), Z is for Zamboni:  A Hockey Alphabet by Matt Napier and illustrated by Melanie Rose (Sleeping Bear Press, 2002)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

