A Time to Weed

Inventory time has arrived in our school library. Books need to be put in the correct order. Others need to be repaired and spruced up. And missing books need to be tracked down or removed from the inventory list.

I’ve been very lucky. When many schools no longer have money to purchase new books, our Home and School Association has generously provided money for our school library. For the past few years, I’ve been filling the library bookshelves with some outstanding titles. In fact, I’ve purchased so many books for our small library our shelves are bursting. It’s time for me to do some major weeding.

Weeding my garden of books is going to be difficult because there are some books that I just can’t make myself pull from the shelves. Our computerized library has enabled me to determine which books are the most popular reads with children and which reads have rarely been chosen. Of course that doesn’t mean just because some books haven’t been checked out in awhile it’s time to get rid of them. It means that I, as the librarian, should reintroduce those books to young readers and see if they spark new interest. But there are still those books that need to go – books with outdated covers and information, books with yellowing pages, and books that haven’t seen the light of day in years.  

If you’re looking for me in the next few weeks, I’ll be in my garden of books weeding so the other books can continue to blossom and spread cheer among young readers!

Explore posts in the same categories: Libraries

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

