Truck Treasures and Truck Books

Going through the boxes we brought home from my parents’ house is like going through a giant box of Cracker Jacks. There are lots of yummy treats inside, but hidden somewhere at the bottom there’s a real treasure.

It pays to search through every nook and cranny. Look what I found as I scavenged through an old trunk.

Trucks aren’t just for boys, you know. They’re for anyone who has an imagination and wants to spend a few minutes or a few hours having a good time. ROAR!

When I was growing up, I loved playing with my brother’s trucks. I could make them rumble over a dirt pile, send them racing down a steep driveway, or make them forge fearlessly through a rain puddle. I could even find secret hiding places so my brother wouldn’t find them!

This old red truck has been through some good and bad times. I’ll bet it was lonely being cooped up in a trunk all those years. It could use a paint job. I wonder if Earl Scheib Paint & Body Shop is still in business. He did my car once. Once was enough. Maybe he’d do a better job on this truck, but then again this truck wouldn’t be the same.  

I’m still busy going through the multitude of boxes we “trucked” home from my parents’ house. I can’t wait to see what other treasures await me, but then I have to decide what to do with them. I need a break so I’m going to take my little red truck on some new driving adventures.

Some Truck Books:

Coming soon:  Where’s My T-R-U-C-K? by Karen Beaumont (Dial, September 1, 2011)

 The Little Dump Truck by Margery Cuyler (Henry Holt & Co., 2009), Truck by Donald Crews (Greenwillow Books, 1991), I Stink! by Kate McMullan (HarperCollins, 2006), My Truck is Stuck! by Kevin Lewis (Hyperion Books, 2002)

Explore posts in the same categories: Fun

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Truck Treasures and Truck Books”


  1. Wonderful fun the old box!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

