Cranks and Books with Cranks

Where’s the crank? Where’s the crank? If I don’t find it soon, I’ll be a crank!

I know a library is supposed to be a warm cozy place, but this is ridiculous. The temperature outside is ten below zero, and the temperature in my library is eighty degrees! I’m melting like the Wicked Witch of the West. Where’s the crank when you need one?

Let me explain. My library, which used to be the girls bathroom, has pipes that bang and clang and heat that radiates like the desert sun even though the thermostat is turned off. In order to provide relief – especially when twenty-five students cram into the room – I need a crank to open the window. There is only one crank available for those of us who have our rooms in the lower level of the school – affectionately known as “down in the hole.” Because the crank is a very popular item, it does a disappearing act quite often.

I’m in hot pursuit of the crank. I find it cowering in a corner next to a closet in the hallway. I triumphantly grab it and proceed to my window. Holy snow angels! Frozen snow is piled solidly against my window and has rendered my old-fashioned air conditioning unit unless! Alas, my room has now become a multipurpose room – a library and a sauna. Let the sweat begin!

Books with cranky but loveable characters:

Princess Justina Albertina by Ellen Dee Davidson

Piggie Pie! by Margie Palatini

No, David! by David Shannon

When Sophie Gets angry — Really, Really Angry… by Molly Bang

Julius The Baby of the World by Kevin Henkes

Wolves by Emily Gravett

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

