An Old Christmas Treasure

“Do give books…for Christmas. They’re never fattening, seldom sinful, and permanently personal.” ─ Lenore Hershey

I love picture books. I love the feel of them, the smell of them, the glorious illustrations in them, and the words that make them a treasure to possess. I especially love Christmas books. I’ve been collecting them since I was young. Yes, my family thinks I have too many of them, but each year, I find a new one that I just can’t resist.

This year as I was going through my shelves of holiday books, I happened to find an old – and I do mean old – book I had added to my collection long ago. It was given to a family member as a Christmas present in 1914! It’s called The Christmas Book and is illustrated by G.A. Davis, who used a combination of muted tones and full color illustrations. It’s water-stained and falling apart, but it still has that charm that I love about Christmas books.

The book is divided into three parts. The first part is called “The Night Before Christmas” and includes Clement C. Moore’s poem.

The next section is called “Christmas Day.” It begins with the children awakening on Christmas morning and goes through all the activities they take part in during the day.

The final section of the book is called “The Day After Christmas.” It’s a parody of Clement C. Moore’s poem and describes the aftermath of too many Christmas Day festivities.   

Notice the text where it says, “All the sweets that they get – toys and books are the best.” Way back then someone knew books were best, too!    

Even though this book hasn’t withstood the “hands of time” as well as some, it was special to one family member a long time ago, and it’s still special to me.

Do you have a favorite old Christmas book?

Explore posts in the same categories: Holiday Books

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

