Windy City Delights

Chicago is my kind of town! Each year between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Eve my family and I spend two days in Chicago, enjoying the sounds, sights, and tastes of the city. One of my all-time favorite spots to visit during this time is Marshall Field’s. Yes, I know it’s been renamed to Macy’s, but for me it will be forever known as Marshall Field and Company.

Our first stop was State Street so we could admire the awesome Christmas decorations in Field’s windows. This is a marvelous tradition that Marshall Field’s continues to create year after year. This year’s theme highlighted the book, Yes, Virginia: There is a Santa Claus by Chris Plehal and James Bernardin. The book is based on a letter sent by eight-year old Virginia O’Hanlon in 1897 to the editor of the “The New York Sun.” It’s a cute book, but I much prefer my edition of the book which contains Virginia’s letter sent to editor, Francis P. Church, and his answer. Included are memorable illustrations by Thomas Nast and some biographical information on Nast, Church, and Virginia. It’s a story that touches my heart.

Our next stop was the Walnut Room on the seventh floor of Marshall Field’s with its dazzling Great Tree. If you haven’t had a chance to visit the Walnut Room, you must go for lunch during the Christmas season when it becomes a truly magical place. My mother took me there when I was young, and my husband and I took our daughter there when she was young. Our visit this time didn’t include lunch, but we did enjoy the view of the tree. It was fun to see all the families dressed in their “Sunday best” and on their best behavior. It brought back warm memories.

Before we left Marshall Field’s, we purchased a State Street Clock ornament made exclusively for Field’s.

Afterward, we stepped back outside onto the streets of the Windy City eager to make more memories. Yup, Chicago is my kind of town!

Explore posts in the same categories: Fun, Life

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Windy City Delights”

  1. Eileen Says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your notes and seeing the pictures.
    You make me think back to some of my moments as a child when
    Christmas was coming.
    We have been lucky to have the parents we did who made this
    magical time of year special with memories we can still feel in our
    hearts. Merry Christmas, Cathy.


Leave a Reply

