Saved by the Book

What in flippin’ flapjacks happened? This week galloped away from me. It’s Friday – my blog posting day. So what in tarnation am I going to post? I set my brain to thinkin’ and right there at my page-turnin’ fingertips was the answer to my dilemma.

 

Emily’s Fortune is my fortune. Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, one of my favorite authors and Newbery Award winner, has written a gosh darn lively read.

Emily Wiggins unexpectedly becomes an orphan and heads for her Aunt Hilda’s house in Redbud. Life for Emily is not so hunky-dory. Miss Catchum of the Catchum Child-Catching Services is after her. Devious Uncle Victor, who wants Emily’s ten million dollar inheritance, is after her, too. Luckily, Jackson, another orphan, happens along and helps Emily disguise herself and teaches her the ropes of the rootin’ tootin’ real world.

Will Miss Catchum catchum? Will Jackson be a trustworthy friend? Will devious Uncle Victor do away with Emily to get his grimy hands on the ten million dollars? Shake your tail feathers and hightail it on out and get yourself a copy of this book. You won’t be sorry!

Explore posts in the same categories: Middle-grade Books

Leave a Reply

