Books: Disaster and Friendship

I’m always on the prowl for books to share with my library students. I just finished reading two books that I think will be hits in the library.

Masters of Disaster by Gary Paulsen, a master of adventure, keeps you turning pages to see what new disaster Henry and his friends get into as they try to make a name for themselves. This middle-grade reader is perfect for boys who are reluctant readers or who are fascinated by crazy mishaps that include slime, crud, ooze, and lots of smelly poop!

Reading this books also comes with my motherly/teacher warning:  Do N-O-T, not, attempt any of these stunts or you will be grounded for the rest of your life!

And that comment brings me to my next book. Clementine, or as one student dubbed her, “the orange girl,” is at it again. Sara Pennypacker‘s Clementine, Friend of the Week does not disappoint. Clementine tries to be the perfect friend in order to get lots of good comments in her Friend of the Week book. When her kitten disappears, Clementine spends all her time searching for it and forgets her promise to help her classmates decorate their bikes for a rally. Feeling like she has let everyone down, Clementine learns what true friendship is when one special friend enlists the help of Clementine’s classmates to help in the search for her kitten. Clementine, Friend of the Week is funny, refreshingly honest, and touching.

I know if I leave these books on the library table there will be a knock- down-drag-out fight to be the first to read one of the books. As a sneaky librarian, my solution is to shelve the books in their proper places and test the library skills of the students. Ha!

Okay, fine, I’m done. I’m on the prowl for the next great book.

Explore posts in the same categories: Literature

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Books: Disaster and Friendship”

  1. Ruth Says:

    I just finished reading Savvy by Ingrid Law. It is quite good, middle school read and she is a new award winning author. I love your book selections. If I went to your library I would even be able to find them. I think.


Leave a Reply

