Cooking Up Some Ideas

“The worst gift is a fruitcake. There is only one fruitcake in the entire world, and people keep sending it to each other.” — Johnny Carson 

Who knew a cookbook could trigger delicious new writing ideas. While searching for recipes for dinner, I came across some interesting tidbits tucked into one of my mom’s cookbooks.

The first thing I found was a bridge tally. On the blank side of the tally was a recipe for fruit punch. It had specific measurements for all the ingredients except for the last one – gin. So how much gin do you add? Your guess is as good as mine. All I know is next to the word gin was the word good. That bridge game must have had lots of punch!

The next recipe I found was handwritten on my great aunt’s stationary. It was for making mince meat from scratch. I tasted mince meat pie when I was younger. Once was enough. When I read all the ingredients that went into it, I knew this was a recipe that would never be used by me. The seven pounds of shin bone is what finalized my decision. And what do you do with the resulting TWENTY-FIVE pounds of mince meat? Give it away? Johnny Carson was wrong. The worst gift isn’t a fruitcake, it’s mince meat!

The last recipe I found in the cookbook was a bit out of the ordinary. It was directions for making a BERNAT BABY PAK – bootees, mittens, cardigan, and bonnet. I wonder what my mom was cooking up for my dad with that!

Now it’s time to let my imagination run loose and cook up some creative writing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

