What Was I Thinking?

 “Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.” — Confucius

For many people, Florida means Disney World, warm weather, the ocean, and vacation. For me it means heat, humidity, unsavory little critters, and complications.

Pressing family issues have landed me in Florida. Rearranging my schedule, booking a flight, packing, and arriving in Florida have left my mind in a muddle.

I left the Madison airport at 5:45 AM. (What was I thinking?) It took me to Detroit. Then it was on to Atlanta and finally to Daytona Beach – a full day of travel. This would have been an excellent time to pay that extra twenty-five dollars the airline charges and check my luggage instead of wheeling it around four different airports and realizing I have to work on my upper body strength in order to squeeze it into the overhead bins.

Post-it reminder:  Pay the darn $25 and check luggage on the way home.

When I left home, it was chilly. Some might even say it was cold. I packed accordingly. Now that I’m here, I’m peeling off layers of the wrong clothes I brought. In the heat of the frenzied moment of packing, I forgot to remember that Florida is always warm, and no matter what the temperature might be, my dad always keeps his house at eighty degrees. I don’t think our thermostat goes that high!

It’s great to see my dad and help him out, but I’m here for too, too many days. Doesn’t anyone remember the wisdom of Ben Franklin when he said, “Fish and visitors stink after three days?” If this heat keeps up, I’ll be stinking well before then. I’m doing what I’m supposed to do, and I have a smile on my face.  

Before embarking on my unscheduled getaway, I quickly composed a list of things for my husband to do – just in case he is missing me too much and wants to surprise me when I get home. I realize it was probably an exercise in futility, but who knows – miracles do happen.

Let’s see what the next week brings.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “What Was I Thinking?”


  1. Hang in there, Cathy. I hope everything goes well.

  2. Punkin Says:

    Love you, Cath – hope your dad is doing better. Thinking of you all every day.


Leave a Reply

