Thoughts on Journaling

What is journaling? Should you do it? Why? Why not?

Simply put, journaling is writing. It’s a way to organize your thoughts and express your feelings. A journal is your personal property. It’s a place where you can feel free to write from your heart, gain insight into your soul, and generate “aha moments.”

Journaling can also be healing. It’s a way to capture your life’s experiences, reflect upon them, and work through problems.

Writers keep journals for many of these reasons.  They also use journals to write down things they’ve observed or special words and expressions they’ve heard. A journal can be a creative outlet and a great resource when it comes to writer’s block.  

No time for journaling? You can try my way. It’s not the traditional way, but it still gives me a means to express myself. I always have a pen and paper handy, and when something strikes me, I seize the moment–or I should say I seize the pen and paper–and jot down thoughts, ideas, expressions, and feelings. I keep my writings in a file folder. It’s not as neat as a journal, but it works for me.

There are no set rules for journaling. No one is going to tell you what you can and can’t write. Should you do it? Why not give it a try. Do what feels right for you, and see what happens.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

