Think, Think, Think

“A quotation is a handy thing to have about, saving one the trouble of thinking for oneself.” ─ A.A. Milne

It’s August. It’s time to stop procrastinating and start thinking about–dare I say it–school and the library. Each year I choose a book to use as a theme for the library. I decorate the walls, bulletin boards, and the reading corner in the school library with characters from the book and add clever sayings.

Do to the fact that I’m still enjoying summer too much, I decided to resurrect a book and characters I used a few years ago. Then I came across an ad in Sunday’s paper from Kohl’s store. Winnie-the-Pooh, Tigger, and Eeyore plush characters are currently on sale for five dollars each and the proceeds from the sales go to support children’s health and education initiatives nationwide. Double whammy–a new theme for the library, using a wonderful old classic while supporting a good cause!   

My enthusiasm is building as I think about the different ways I can share A.A. Milne’s books with my students. Winnie-the-Pooh books are charming. They speak of friendship, love, and kindness while engaging the reader/listener in delightful adventures. My hope is that my students can connect with the characters and appreciate the value of the stories as I did once upon a time. Another added benefit to sharing these books is that Milne left us with some thoughtful quotes that are great for group discussions.

Friendship quotes:

“If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.” ─ Winnie-the-Pooh

“Never forget me, because if I thought you would, I’d never leave.” ─ Winnie-the-Pooh

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.” ─ Winnie-the-Pooh

“I was walking along looking for somebody, and then suddenly I wasn’t anymore.” ─ Winnie-the-Pooh

 Thinking quotes:

“I’m not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” ─ Winnie-the-Pooh

 “We can’t all and some of us don’t. That’s all there is to it.” ─ Eeyore

“Sometimes,” said Pooh, “the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.”

“Weeds are flowers too, once you get to know them.” ─ Eeyore

“You can’t stay in your corner of the forest waiting for others to come to you. You have to go to them sometimes.” ─ Winnie-the-Pooh

Let the good reads roll!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Think, Think, Think”

  1. Ruth Says:

    “But wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.”


Leave a Reply

