Closed for the Summer

It’s a wrap! The library books are inventoried, put in order, and covered for the summer. The shelves have never been so jam-packed or so neat. It’s rather sad. I’d much prefer to see those books flying off the shelves and being kid-handled as students search for their favorites and discover new ones.

As I turn off the lights and lock the door to the library, I wonder. Did I do my best this year? Did I introduce students to a variety of genres and encourage them to step out of their reading comfort zone? Did I model my love of books and reading and instill those qualities in my students? Then a second grader hands me a simple note written from the heart and my confidence is refueled.

And now it’s my time to read, read, read and discover new ways to turn every student into a lifelong reader.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

