It’s National Children’s Book Week

Books! Books! Books! I love books! I love the feel of them. I love the smell of them. I love the way they sound when they’re read. Not even a scrumptious piece of dark chocolate can take the place of a good book!

 When I was growing up, our family owned a copy of Better Homes and Gardens STORY BOOK. Opening that book was like opening a treasure chest. Inside were stories, poems, finger games, a nonsense alphabet, songs, and fables. There was something for everyone in our family.

I leafed through the book the other day. It’s old and worn, but it still holds magic.

One of the first stories I remember reading with my mother was “The Little Red Hen.” It was a rebus story so I could read along with her.

There was “The House that Jack Built” with pictures by Randolph Caldecott and “Old Mother Hubbard” who owned a very clever dog.

I loved “Little Black Sambo.” I saw no racism in the story as some have claimed. To me it was about a very ingenious little boy who outsmarted some tigers and ended up with a special treat of one-hundred and sixty-nine pancakes!

There were other stories and poems that made me laugh and piqued my imagination. To this day, that book is still one of my all-time favorites. Each time I open it, I am filled with wonderful memories of my childhood and reading.

What are some of your favorites?

Explore posts in the same categories: Literature

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “It’s National Children’s Book Week”


  1. How much I enjoyed seeing the old books featured here. My first favorite picture book was Bartholomew and the Ooblek by Dr.Seuss. Now, I simply can’t choose.

    • cathyso3 Says:

      There are so many great children’s books. My favorite Dr. Seuss book is AND TO THINK THAT I SAW IT ON MULBERRY STREET. It’ such fun!


Leave a Reply

