Because I Said So

“A mother is she who can take the place of all others but whose place no one else can take.” Cardinal Mermillod

I’m convinced the moment a woman has her first child, the phrase, “because I said so,” becomes a permanent part of her vocabulary. Mother, child, and infamous motherisms are forever bound together.

When I was growing up, my mother had a stockpile of phrases that flew out of her mouth when she didn’t approve of something one of us kids said or did. You know the ones I’m talking about.

Look at me when I’m talking to you.

Who taught you that? You didn’t learn that in this house!

Your father is going to hear about this when he gets home!

Are you going out dressed like that?

Over my dead body!  

Close that door! Were you born in a barn?

If everyone jumped off a cliff, would you do it, too?

Money doesn’t grow on trees.

I brought you into this world, and I can take you right back out!

I swore when I became a mother I’d never say the things my mother said, but reality is harsh. I am my mother. Some of those exact sayings explode from my mouth when least expected. My daughter can attest to that. I guess it’s true. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.  

There’s one phrase I do remember my mother repeatedly saying, and I hope my daughter remembers me saying it, too. Three simple words that meant the world to me — I Love You!

Do you have any memorable phrases your mother said while you were growing up?

Books to celebrate mothers:  Love You Forever by Robert Munsch (Firefly Books, 2000), Mama, Do You Love Me? by Barbara M. Joose (Chronicle Books, 1991), Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman (Random House Books for Young Reader’s, 1966), Thanks to You:  Wisdom from Mother & Child by Julie Andrews Edwards & Emma Walton Hamilton (HarperCollins, March 2010)

Explore posts in the same categories: Laughter, Life

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Because I Said So”

  1. Punkin Says:

    Children should be seen and not heard!!!!!


Leave a Reply

