Hop Aboard the Poetry Train!

“Poetry is plucking at the heartstrings, and making music with them.” ─ Dennis Gabor

Books were a part of our home décor when I was growing up. There were books on tables, books on chairs, books next to beds, and books shelved in the bathroom. (Doesn’t everyone do that?) There was also a bookcase filled with old volumes of books. That’s where I found a poetry book and my favorite poet. As I leafed through the pages, a short poem caught my eye. It began…

                                          I’m nobody! Who are you?

                                          Are you nobody, too?

I loved that poem, and from then on I loved Emily Dickinson. When I first read the poem as a child, I felt like Emily Dickinson was speaking directly to me. It made me feel good to know that somebody felt like a nobody, too, and it didn’t matter. It was just good to be yourself.

As an educator, I’m always on the lookout for good poetry books. When I discovered the Poetry for Young People series, I was excited. These books provide a perfect way for me to introduce some of my favorite poets to my students – Robert Frost, Maya Angelou, Langston Hughes, Lewis Carroll, William Carlos Williams, and Walt Whitman.

I have many more poets on my list of favorites. There are the poets who tickle the funny bone, poets who make you think, poets who celebrate nature and everyday life – poets like Shel Silverstein, Bruce Lansky, Jack Prelutsky, Lee Bennett Hopkins, Robert Louis Stevenson, Karla Kuskin, Nikki Grimes, J. Patrick Lewis, and so many more talented writers.  

Today is Poetry Friday and April is National Poetry Month. It’s a perfect time to “Hop Aboard the Poetry Train!”

                                           Looking for rhythm? Looking for rhyme?

                                           Try a poem, but take your time.

                                           There are lots to choose, as you will see

                                           Different forms of poetry.

                                           Free verse, limericks, sonnets, haiku.

                                           Wait there’s more! I’m not quite through.

                                           Cinquains, quatrains, and a little rap

                                           Keep the beat, snappity snap!

                                           Listen carefully, hear the refrain.

                                           Hop aboard the poetry train!

One of my favorite poetry books:  A Child’s Garden of Verses by Robert Louis Stevenson (Sterling, 2007)

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

4 Comments on “Hop Aboard the Poetry Train!”


  1. Hi Cathy!

    My favorite poetry book for kids is TALKING LIKE THE RAIN. We’ve read it and re-read it and each of my girls has their favorites they can recite.

    Pat

    P.S. Way to go on the Highlights poem!

  2. kseverny Says:

    this is cool.
    A fun read


Leave a Reply

