How I See It

“People see only what they are prepared to see.” ─ Ralph Waldo Emerson

I have glasses all over the house. My kitchen glasses are to make sure the right ingredients go into a recipe. My computer glasses help me see what hysterically funny things I’ve written. My television glasses help me figure out which one of the bazillion channels to choose. And my bathroom glasses are so I don’t mistake hemorrhoid ointment for toothpaste!

Why don’t I just put on one pair of glasses and wear them? It’s much more fun to wear a variety of glasses. Sometimes I wear two pairs of glasses at the same time. Depending on which glasses I’m wearing, I not only see things differently, but I look different, too. I can go from goofy to fashionable to seriously intelligent. Imagine that!

My all-time favorite glasses are my book glasses. They are magical. They add a whole new dimension to what I see. I can suddenly read between the lines, envision the world I’m immersed in, feel the emotions of the characters, and predict future events.

When it comes to seeing, there’s nothing like a good pair of glasses to clear up your vision. When it comes to reading, there’s nothing like a good book to make your day. That’s how I see it.

Books about eyes:  I Wish I Had Glasses Like Rosa by Kathryn Heling and Deborah Hembrook (Raven Tree Press, 2009), My Travelin’ Eye by Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw (Henry Holt & Co., 2008), The Patch by Justina Chen Headley (Charlesbridge Publishing, 2007), Princess Peepers by Pam Calvert (Marshall Cavendish, 2008)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Leave a Reply

