Read! Read! Read Across America Day!

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells” ─ Dr. Seuss

One book, two books, red books, blue books. Old books, new books, false books, true books.

Munch books, scrunch books, have some lunch books. Big books, small books, read them all books.

Today is a nonsensical, seussical day. It’s Dr. Seuss’ birthday! It’s a day to celebrate reading and the man who was a major influence in the creation of Beginner Books, which in turn created enthusiastic young readers.

Name one book. Name two books. Name more than a few books. I know you can do it. Get going right through it. Hop on Pop, Green Eggs and Ham, Fox in Socks… Keep it up, Sam I am!       

I love Dr. Seuss books. I grew up with them. My younger sister and I read One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish until we could recite it in our sleep. “And now good night. It is time to sleep. So we will sleep with our pet Zeep.”

I grew up in a small town where not much happened. So I have to say that my all-time favorite Dr. Seuss book is And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry StreetMarco’s plain horse and wagon on Mulberry Street was just as boring as peeling bubble gum off the sidewalk on our street! So when Marco imagined more than a horse and wagon, I cheered. I turned the pages, laughing and wondering what would come next. Go Marco! Go imagination! Each page revealed something new and exciting until there was full-scale raucous fun. Then Marco had a reality check and we were back to the plain horse and wagon on Mulberry Street, but in between it was a fantastic trip!

So I thank Dr. Seuss. I thank him for his creativity, his vision, and his quirky illustrations. He opened the door to rhythm, rhyme, and imagination for generations of young readers!

So…

Read to your grandma. Read to your son. Read to your uncle. Let’s have some fun.

Whatever you do. Whatever you say. Read! Read! Read Across America Day!

What’s your favorite Dr. Seuss book?

For a complete list of Dr. Seuss books click here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fun, Life, Picture Books

5 Comments on “Read! Read! Read Across America Day!”

  1. Eileen Lucas Says:

    Oh the Places You’ll Go, is a favorite now, but Horton, Bartholomew Cubbins, and Yertle the Turtle were favorites when I was growing up.

  2. P Says:

    Put Me in the Zoo – love it!


  3. I liked most of his books, but I think Green Eggs and Ham was my fav. My very least fav was “I had trouble getting to Solla Sollew.” My kids loved it, because it was really long, and by the end I’d be tongue tied. But seriously, it took half an hour to read! I am guilty of actually hiding it for a few weeks to give myself a break. Awful Mom, eh?

    • cathyso3 Says:

      Debbie,

      Your comment about being tongue tied after reading “I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew” made me laugh. After reading Dr. Seuss books to all my library classes today, my tongue is in rhyme overload. I’m glad Dr. Seuss’ birthday comes just once a year!


Leave a Reply

