Lost and Found

Lost! Missing! Vanished! Gone!

How do they do it? One minute they’re with you and the next they’re not. I’m talking about family members who go astray while shopping. Does the store gobble them up? Do they hide and laugh while you frantically search for them? Do they think you’re lost and they’re not?

When my daughter was young and wandered away from me, I was a crazy woman until I found her. When she was a teenager I figured she had purposely disappeared so I wouldn’t embarrass her. I knew she would eventually find me because I had the keys to the car. But when your husband disappears, that’s a whole new game of hide and seek.

On Saturday we entered the department store together. He went one way. I went the other. We were to meet back in the middle. I zoomed through the store, knowing my husband hates to shop and would show signs of impatience if I took too long. (He will deny this, but it’s true!) I got back to the middle with my purchases and waited, and waited, and waited. I did a quick search of the store. Not a sign of him. A saleswoman asked if she could help me find something. I told her my husband. She laughed and walked away.

After twenty minutes, I’m thinking, where is this man? Is he like The Man Who Lost His Head? Was he searching for a new one and that’s what was taking so long? I took out my phone, which I was told to always have with me, and called him. The phone rang, and rang, and rang. Then it went to voicemail. I had been waiting for forty-five minutes. My happy face was no longer. I considered going to the service desk to have them make an announcement for a missing husband when he strolled over to me. It seems he had discovered shopping wasn’t so bad after all. He had been hiding in a fitting room for the past hour, trying on clothes and finding some great deals.   

When we got to the car, he picked his phone up off the floor where he had left it. “Oh,” he said, “I have a missed call.” I rolled my eyes and said, “Let’s go.”

More lost and found: Patches: Lost And Found by Steven Kroll (Marshall Cavendish Children’s Books, 2005), Corduroy Lost and Found by B.G. Hennessy (Viking Juvenile, 2006), Lost and Found:  Three Dog Stories by Jim LaMarche (Chronicle Books, 2009)  Lost and Found by Andrew Clements (Atheneum, 2008)

Coming Soon:  Nini Lost and Found by Anita Lobel (Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2010)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Middle-grade Books, Picture Books

Leave a Reply

