Bear With Me

Snorting, grunting, groaning. It’s six o’clock in the morning. It’s snowing. It’s cold. And I’m a bear! My family knows to keep their distance until later when I’m miraculously transformed into my charming self.

Okay, I’m not good-humored when I wake up. I need time and space before pleasant things come out of my mouth and so, too, does my daughter. Who knew grouchy was genetic? Recently, I said, “You’re as grumpy as I am in the morning.” My daughter’s retort was, “I know. That’s why I love you.”

Not all bears are grouchy. The bear in Kevin Henkes’ book, Old Bearis a perfect example of what I should be like when I get up in the morning. Everything about the book is cheery – the soft colors, the expressions on Old Bear’s face, his dreams, and his outlook on life. When I meet with my preschoolers in the library at 10:20 next Tuesday, I will be sharing this book with them. By that hour of the morning, I’ll be a happy person, and I’ll be able to do the book the justice it deserves.  

Whether we’re old bears, young bears, happy bears, or grumpy bears, bear with us!   

More bear books:  Bear Snores On by Karma Wilson (Margaret K. McElderry, 1st Edition, 2002), We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen (Margaret K. McElderry, 1st Edition, 1989), Bear’s Picture by Daniel Pinkwater (Houghton Mifflin Books for children, 2008), Very Hairy Bear by Alice Schertle (Harcourt Children’s Books, 2007)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Picture Books

Leave a Reply

