And the Tony Award Goes to…

“Humor is everywhere, in that there’s irony in just about anything a human does.” — Bill Nye

Secretly, I’ve always wanted to act. I wanted my name in lights, to be a Broadway star, to win a Tony Award. Okay, I’m not a Broadway star. I don’t have my name in lights, but it’s on the door of the library, and inside, I’m a star! I can be charming, harebrained, or totally obnoxious. When I’m reading a book, I’m a drama queen, bringing down the schoolhouse with my performance.

I love my job! I can be as zany as I want as long as I have a book in my hand. Along with sharing incredible books with the students, I also teach library skills. This can be a bummer. Right now I’m in the middle of teaching the Dewey Decimal System. Okay, it’s ingenious and a necessary part of the curriculum, but it doesn’t rock my world. I needed something to ramp up the excitement for learning good old Melvil’s system. Then I discovered Candace Fleming’s, The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary School.

This book is hilarious! It’s right up my alley of humor. In fact, it’s downright punny, and it has a great chapter on teaching the Dewey Decimal System.

Thank you, Candace, for making my life so easy!

After reading The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary School, I was possessed. I was on a mission to use this book to mesmerize my students with Dewey’s classification system. My lesson was going to be an award-winning performance. I was ready. Plastered on the wall was the name of the chapter, “Dewey We or Don’t We?” As each fourth-grader walked into the library, my mantra was, “Dewey! Dewey! Dewey!”

They looked at me like I was from another planet. Ha! Little did they know that one of the characters they were about to meet was a teacher named Mr. Jupiter. They sat. I read. I reached into my inner self to provide an awe-inspiring learning experience. I had the characters down pat. By the end of the chapter, the entire class was loudly chanting these words from the book. “Do we know about the Dewey decimal system? Do we? Dewey? Boy, do we?”

The Dewey Decimal System was a hit—well, almost. I’m still working on that, but the book was a hit and so was my performance. I expect calls from agents any day. Now if only I could sing…

Explore posts in the same categories: Fun, Middle-grade Books

Leave a Reply

