Conflict Resolution

 

Friday, January 1, 2010, will be a new day, a new decade, a New Year, and a new time for making New Year’s resolutions.

Resolution: A promise, a pledge, an oath.

I’ve thought through the idea of making resolutions very carefully, and every time I make a New Year’s resolution it presents me with a conflict.

Case in point one:

Resolution:  Eat healthy

Conflict of resolution:  It’s winter. It’s cold. The roads are icy. Danger lurks around every slippery turn. It’s much safer to stay at home and sustain myself with what I have in the house. So what if it’s holiday goodies, at least I won’t starve!

Case in point two:

Resolution:  Exercise

Conflict of resolution:  From the looks of the exercise equipment, I am going to have to exercise major household cleaning in order to get to the exercise equipment. Notice the word, “exercise” appears three times in the previous sentence. I’m already exhausted! And what if, by chance, the equipment is ready to use and my exercising results in weight loss? Then my clothes won’t fit, and I will have to buy new ones. That’s money. Money that I won’t have to buy healthy food. Then I’ll be back to eating leftover holiday goodies. Problem!

Case in point three:

Resolution: Read more

Conflict of resolution:  I love to read. Reading feeds the mind, but in order to read, I need time. If I’m exercising, trying to manage the slippery roads to drive to the grocery store, working, writing, and doing my daily chores, how do I have time to read? Utter exhaustion.

There you have it. Three simple resolutions that cause conflicts. So I say why bother making a New Year’s resolution when I know there will always be a conflict. Therefore, I resolve to make no resolutions.

2010 is going to be a great year!

In case you’re determined to stick to your New Year’s resolution, check this out:   39 Proven Ways To Keep Your New Year Resolutions – All Year Long! (CreateSpace, December, 2009)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

One Comment on “Conflict Resolution”


  1. Hello,

    I am a licensed mental health counselor and have had the honor of walking with many people through their food/weight/body image issues. Research says that dieting is not a long-term solution because almost everyone who loses weight gains it all back – plus more! This is because food and weight issues are much more about our hearts and our stories than calories and fat grams. Until we address these issues of the heart, we cannot fight the body image bandit and win. I am writing a book and blog about the causes and how to address them instead of treating the symptoms only. If we don’t work on the causes of our weight/body issues, it is like cutting off a weed at the top. It looks good for a while, but it always comes back. My latest post is called, “Real Reasons for Food Addiction.” I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks, Cherrie
    http://www.cherriemac.wordpress.com
    Fannies: Reflections on Cookie Dough, Life, and Your Derriere


Leave a Reply

