The Christmas Letter

“Humor is mankind’s greatest blessing.” ─ Mark Twain

             Admit it. You receive them. You read them. You may even write them. I’m talking about the letter that falls out of the holiday card, shouting, “Read me! Read me!” From my experience, these letters are usually filled with a running record of events that have occurred over the past year ─ vacations, recitals, blue ribbon prizes, championship games, A+ report cards, surgeries, births, deaths. You name it, and you’ve probably read it in one of those letters.

            I like receiving holiday cards with letters and pictures in them, and I will readily admit that I, too, write those letters. It’s a way of keeping in touch with family and friends I don’t often see. In my opinion, if you just sign your name to a card, you’re wasting a stamp!

            When I write my letters, I try to be creative and humorous so I don’t bore my family and friends.  I pick a theme and go with it. Over the years, I’ve done just about everything.

A Myth:  It’s a well-known fact that many a tongue hath made “myth-takes”…

Poetry:  On pen, on paper, on envelope and stamp…

Carols:  It Came Upon a Brainwave Clear, Hark! the Herald Agents Sing…

Newscast:  Our top news story on this frosty eve comes from City Hall where the Ogrens…

            This year my brain was in a deep freeze. No theme. No great things to write about. No nothing! So like every creative writer I dug into the hidey-holes of my mind and was able to come up with another fantastic Christmas letter which I’d like to share with you.

            

Simple. Sweet. Letter done!

More letters: 

The Twelve Days of Christmas in Wisconsin written and illustrated by Erin Eitter Kono (Sterling, 2007)

Jake’s cousin, Emma, is coming to Wisconsin for a visit. He writes her a letter each of the twelve days of Christmas, telling her all about the history and people of Wisconsin and the fun things to do. Along with each letter, he sends her a “Wisconsin” gift.

If you know someone who is studying Wisconsin history, this is a perfect Christmas gift. Check out the other books in the Twelve days of Christmas, State by State series.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Leave a Reply

