A Dilemma

“Humor is merely tragedy standing on its head with its pants torn.” ─Irvin S. Cobb

     I Stink! by Kate and Jim McMullan is a favorite book of my library preschoolers. They can’t get enough of the garbage truck that burps, smells, and collects ugly underpants and rotten radishes. This book alone has inspired some of my preschoolers to choose being a trash collector as their life-long career.

     Speaking of trash collectors, our trash collectors have created an unusual dilemma for me. Around the holiday season, I always give a tin of home-baked goodies to our postal and paper carriers. Last week when I picked up the recycle bin, I noticed in the bottom of the not-too-clean bin a holiday greeting from our trash collectors. I’m guessing that was a gentle hint that I was neglecting them and they would like to be remembered, too. No problem!

     For the postal and paper carriers, I put the tins in their respective boxes. The only boxes the trash collectors have are our garbage bags and recycle bin. Problem! Do I give goodies to the trash carriers, or do I give them something else? Maybe hand sanitizer would be a better bet. Either way, where do I put the gifts?

     If I put the gifts on top of the garbage bags or recycle bin, will they think it’s garbage and toss it out? If they open up the tins and see the goodies inside, will they still think it’s garbage and toss it out? Then there’s the neighbor who “shops” the garbage every Thursday. Will she pick the gifts up and claim them for herself before the trash collectors arrive? Do I sit by the window all day and when I see the trucks coming dash madly through the ice and snow clutching the tins? Something so simple can be so difficult.

More garbage for you:  Grandma Drove the Garbage Truck (Down East Books, 2006), Smash! Mash! Crash! There Goes the Trash! (Margaret K. McElderry, 2006), Garbage Trucks at Work (PowerKids Press, 2009)

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Leave a Reply

