What’s in a Name?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

From Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet

            Names label you and should be chosen carefully. A name tells the world who you are. My name is Cathy with a “C,” not Kathy with a “K.” My “C” is important to me. I “C” the world through a humorous eye. Or is that “I”?

            Celebrities have been known to choose some very unusual names for their children. Take the name Apple. Does that mean the person is delicious or tart? What about Blanket? Warm and cuddly? Or how about Moon Unit? Totally out of this world? 

            Names can be short like Al in Arthur Yorinks’, Hey, Al or long like in Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox. Names can be descriptive like Flat Stanley by Jeff Brown or Fancy Nancy by Jane O’Connor.

            Sometimes names can be a hassle as in Chandler’s story.

            Chandler, a kindergartener, kept forgetting to write his name on his papers. His teacher told him that if he forgot again, he would have to write his name twenty-five times. Chandler forgot and had to write his name over and over again. When he finished, he informed his teacher and his classmates he was changing his name. “What are you changing it to?” asked his teacher. “Bob,” Chandler replied. “B-o-o-b!” he spelled as he wrote it on his paper. “Oh,” said the little girl sitting next to him. “I don’t think you want to do that!”

            Names are important. What’s your name?

Explore posts in the same categories: Laughter, Life

2 Comments on “What’s in a Name?”

  1. denisedthornton Says:

    Names. Yes. I remember as a little girl how much fun I thought it would be to name my own children. And when the time came, it actually felt almost overwhelming. Oh the pressure!
    Naming characters is much more fun and almost worth the incredible effort to write fiction.
    Welcome to the blogging world.

    I started blogging this year also. I write mostly nonfiction and am focusing more on environmental writing these days, though I am finishing a nonficiton YA book on teens and cancer at the moment that predates my new direction.
    Feel free to check out my blogging efforts at
    http://digginginthedriftless.wordpress.com

    I’ll look forward to your posts, Cathy with a C.
    (I have spent many years trying to determine if there is a distinct personality divide that separates the Cathy’s from the Kathy’s. I thought I had it figured out. Then I met a woman who spells her name (same pronuciation as yours) Kathe. Now I’m back to square one.

  2. Keith Pitsch Says:

    My nephew and I were discussing the fact that we had a great (or in his case great, great) uncle named Adolph, but since WWII, that name has not cropped up very often. Then we noticed that we probably will never see (using two common surnames in our area) any more Sadam Bowes or Osama Zwiefelhofers after the current generation passes on.


Leave a Reply

