Christmas Kermit

“The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.”  ─ee cummings

     The other day while I was perfecting my skills of procrastination, muffled sounds kept interrupting me. A little investigation led me to the basement where my husband and daughter were pulling boxes of Christmas decorations off the shelves. I was told it was time to get rid of the moldy pumpkins and cornstalks and make way for Christmas.

     Father and daughter attacked the boxes, looking for their favorite decorations. My husband found the lights and headed outside to enjoy the fresh air and to grumble irreverently at the tangled mess, and my daughter found Christmas Kermit and his crew of holly jolly stuffed critters.

     After being boxed up for a year, my daughter knew Christmas Kermit was ready for some action. The other critters were content to sit back and watch as Beth and Kermit took off. One small step for Beth and one giant leap for the froggy-kind landed Christmas Kermit in a web-footed hang-ten from the ceiling fan.

     More mischief ensued as the two goofs frolicked inside and out.

     I was up to my eyeballs in glitter and garland when I warned the crazy crew that if they wanted food they had better give me a little help. Their antics stopped, and everyone got down to the real business of decorating.

     The last time I saw Christmas Kermit he was resting in the poinsettia bowl after imbibing in too much holiday sarsaparilla. We left him there and put in our favorite Christmas DVD, The Muppet Christmas Carol.

    As Tiny Tim said, “God Bless Us, Every One!” 

Check it out:  A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens with wonderful illustrations by P.J. Lynch

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Leave a Reply

